Plans and Specifications Preparation

New Structure

Our team of experienced engineers uses their expertise, knowledge and professional judgment for the entire preparation of plans and specifications of multi-storey buildings of all purpose, bridges, as well as airport structures. NCK’s expertise includes reinforced and prestressed concrete, steel, wood, masonry, structural glass and aluminum. Modelers working at NCK set themselves apart by using BIM coordination with 3D models in most projects.

Plans and Specifications Preparation

Structural Transformation and Rehabilitation

NCK prepares plans and specifications for the transformation and structural rehabilitation of existing buildings. From major structural restoration of a heritage building to the removal of a load-bearing wall in a light wood frame residence, our team adapts to a wide range of challenges related to building transformation.

Site Supervision

NCK has a team of engineers and technicians specialized in construction supervision. These on-site services ensure conformity of the completion for our clients, which brings added value to the construction. This monitoring service is closely related to work and schedule monitoring as well as processing of the contractor’s payment claims. On-site change management is also provided by our supervision teams.

Study and Structural Characterization of Existing Buildings

NCK has technical expertise in the evaluation and structural characterization of existing buildings, including heritage buildings. The firm performs required surveys and inspections, resulting structural analysis and formulation of recommendations. Material strength testing may also be required to obtain a building’s structural inventory and working principles.

Legal Expertise

Expert Witness

NCK’s know-how allows its members to act as external consultants in projects where litigious situations arise, bringing their expertise to contribute to an amicable resolution. Our engineers can also act as expert witnesses before the Court of Québec, the Superior Court of Québec and any other court of law, where issues related to the structure or management of construction projects are debated, or to offer a second opinion in cases where an investigation report has already been produced.

Technical Committees

With the continued objective to participate in the development of the practice of consulting engineering and particularly to influence the evolution of its regulatory framework, NCK has been involved in various technical committees, both nationally and internationally, such as:

  • Technical committee and Commission of the International Association for Bridge and Structural Engineering
  • International Committee of the Joint Committee on Structural Safety
  • Canadian National Committee on Earthquake Engineering
  • Joint Committee on Reinforced Concrete Design for the Canadian Standards Association & National Building Code
  • Committee on Concrete Offshore Structures of the Canadian Standards Association
  • Grand Selection Committee in Civil Engineering for the National Science and Engineering Research Council
  • Strategic Grants Committee of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
  • Research & Advisory Committee of NSERC’s Network of Centers of Excellence on High-performance Concrete.

The firm’s involvement within these committees is motivated by its priority in providing high quality service to its clients, and to this end, always be at the forefront of theoretical knowledge as well as the development of the construction industry.

Préparation de plans et devis

Structure neuve

Notre équipe d’ingénieurs chevronnés met à contribution son expertise, ses connaissances et son jugement professionnel pour la préparation complète de plans et devis de bâtiments étagés de toutes vocations, de certains ponts, ainsi que de structures aéroportuaires. L’expertise de NCK inclut le béton armé et précontraint, l’acier, le bois, la maçonnerie, le verre structurel et l’aluminium. Les techniciens modélisateurs œuvrant chez NCK se démarquent par l’utilisation du BIM, soit la coordination par modèles 3D dans la vaste majorité des projets.

Préparation de plans et devis

Transformation et réhabilitation de structure

NCK assure également la préparation de plans et devis pour la transformation et la réhabilitation structurale de bâtiments existants.  De la restauration structurale majeure d’un bâtiment patrimonial jusqu’au retrait d’un mur porteur dans une résidence à ossature légère de bois, notre équipe s’adapte à un vaste éventail de défis liés à la transformation de bâtiments.

Surveillance des travaux

NCK dispose d’une équipe d’ingénieurs et de techniciens spécialisés en surveillance des travaux. Ces services au chantier permettent à nos clients d’assurer la conformité de la réalisation, ce qui offre une valeur ajoutée à la construction. Ce service de surveillance est étroitement lié au suivi des travaux et de l’échéancier ainsi qu’au traitement des demandes de paiement de l’entrepreneur. La gestion des changements au chantier est également assurée par nos équipes de surveillance.

Étude et caractérisation structurale de bâtiments existants

NCK détient une expertise technique en évaluation et caractérisation structurale de bâtiments existants, dont les bâtiments à valeur patrimoniale. La firme prend en charge les relevés et inspections nécessaires, l’analyse structurale qui en découle et la formulation de recommandations. Des essais de résistance de matériaux peuvent également être prescrits, permettant d’obtenir un état des lieux et des lignes directrices quant à la structure d’un bâtiment.

Expertise légale

Témoin expert

L’expertise de NCK lui permet d’agir à titre de consultant externe dans des projets dans lesquels des situations litigieuses surviennent et où le bénéfice d’une expertise pourrait aider à la résolution à l’amiable d’une telle situation.  Nos ingénieurs peuvent aussi agir à titre de témoins experts devant la Cour du Québec, la Cour supérieure du Québec et devant toute autre cour de justice où des questions liées à la structure ou à la gestion de projets de construction sont en cause ou encore offrir une contre-expertise dans des dossiers où un rapport d’étude a déjà été produit.

Comités techniques

Dans un souci constant de participation au développement de la pratique du génie conseil et particulièrement pour infléchir l’évolution de son encadrement réglementaire, NCK s’est impliqué dans les travaux de comités techniques divers, tant à l’échelle nationale qu’internationale, tels que :

  • Comité technique et Commission de travail de l’Association internationale des Ponts et Charpentes.
  • Comité international: « Joint Committee on Structural Safety »
  • Conseil national de recherche – Canadian National Committee on Earthquake Engineering.
  • Association canadienne de normalisation/Code national du bâtiment – Joint Committee on Reinforced Concrete Design.
  • Association Canadienne de normalisation – Committee on Concrete Offshore Structures.
  • National Science and Engineering Research Council, Grand Selection Committee, Civil Engineering.
  • Conseil de recherche en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada,
  • Comité de subventions stratégiques et Comité de subventions d’opérations.
  • CRSNG, Réseau de centres d’excellence sur les bétons à haute performance. Comité consultatif et comité de recherche.

 

Les démarches de la firme au sein de ces comités sont marquées par sa préoccupation d’assurer à ses clients des services de qualité, et à cette fin d’être toujours à la fine pointe des connaissances théoriques ainsi que du développement de l’industrie de la construction.